If law enforcement officers arrest you on suspicion of driving under the influence, you should know that Colorado has some of the most stringent DUI laws in the country.
You may only be concerned about the fines and penalties you will be facing, but what about the long-term consequences? How would a conviction affect your future, such as the plans you have to become a teacher?
Targeting drunk drivers
If you drive in the state of Colorado, you automatically give your consent to a chemical test if law enforcement suspects you of driving while under the influence of alcohol. If the reading shows that your blood alcohol concentration level is 0.08 percent or higher, you will face a DUI charge. Even as a first offender, you are looking at a minimum of five days in jail. However, the court can require you to enroll in an alcohol treatment program instead. You will pay a fine of up to $1,000 and face a driver's license suspension for nine months, minimum. In addition, 12 points will be added to your record--and this can cause all kinds of problems for you.
Affecting your future
A criminal record may make it difficult for you to find a job. Prospective employers may decide not to take a chance on you when they see the mark on your driving record. Some colleges will turn you down if you have a DUI conviction. If you had plans to become a teacher, you might have to give them up because you may not be able to acquire the certification or state licensing required for that position or for several others, including becoming a doctor, nurse or lawyer.
Understanding the law
After a DUI arrest, the prosecution must prove its case against you. However, your attorney will perform thorough research on your arrest and the circumstances of your DUI charge in order to mount a strong case on your behalf. Remember, a DUI charge is not just about fines and other penalties. It is about your future.